Skip to content

Improvement: Additional Steps to Enhance Existing Site Deletions #406

Description

@jeremy-farrance

As a frequent user, I tend to occasionally try to clean up (delete) older sites that are no longer needed. I still occasionally run into unexpected problems or outright crashes.

One of the habits I have gotten into that avoids crashes on delete, is to go to IIS first and stop both the app pool and the website BEFORE I do the delete. So, as a suggested improvement:

  1. when a Delete is initiated, add these two steps to the process: stop the website and stop the app pool.

Further, I am often deleting recent installs and recreating them to get a clean install of the current (or sometimes a previous) version of DNN. But after a successful delete, installing again to the exact same site (and subdirectory) name throws errors about folders already existing. The problem appears to be that the delete successfully removes the /Website folder and the database, but does NOT delete the database user (Security/Login) and the other previously created folders+files /Database and /Logs. So, as a suggested improvement:

  1. when a Delete is initiated, add these steps to the end of the clean up process:
  • MSSQL: remove the Login (e.g. IIS APPPOOL\dnn100100.dnndev.me_nvQuickSite)
  • remove the [site/subdomain]/Database folder
  • remove the [site/subdomain]/Logs folder (and all subfolders/files)

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions